You

When I was ten years old, I couldn’t wait to be 18, 20, 22.

I wanted to be an artist. I wanted to be an opera singer. I imagined myself as a young woman, beautiful, confident, walking in pretty dresses, thick curls, a smile, and always having an outlet for my creativity.

Today I’m 22. I am officially an editorial assistant for this wonderful company, whose vice president called me this morning to let me know that his company will sponsor me, will pay for my working visa and enable me to live in the States for years to come.

Today I was young, beautiful, walking the streets of New York, thinking of the job I have that encompasses all my dreams and gives me an outlet for the creativity that pulsed within me when I was ten.

I’m not an opera singer, but I sing at home. When my roommates are gone, I sing from the soul. I’m not an artist, but I draw when I find the time. I paint when I have the energy. And I write.

I have a job in New York City that, stating Monday, will allow me to release my passion for words. I have a job that will allow me to learn and grow and let my dreams unfold before me.

I have an amazing ex-boyfriend, who planned an amazing dinner, who surprised me with tickets to a Jazz club, who sent me flowers and balloons and shared a passionate kiss with me in a cab on my way back home tonight.

I have friends back home who read this blog consistently, who love me, who share in my joy today.

What do I have to complain about? Nothing. Not today. Perhaps little things tomorow and the day after, but not today.

My life is wonderful. The big things are there. My dreams are real. My passion is mine. The souls that touch my life and color it are alive. My dreams are throbbing.

My life is filled with joy, with pain, with gratitude.

Today I have everything. Tomorrow I will have everything, too.

Thank you. You, who reads this, you, who doesn’t. You, God. You, Time. You, 10-year-old who helped me get to where I am today.

You, 10-year-old Nati, who I know would have been proud to see me in my pretty dress today, smiling up at the New York City sun behind brown curls, embracing life, and truth, and the passion that life decided would mine.

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Career, Dating, Friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You

  1. bhavmd says:

    i think it’s time u changed the name of ur site… ur young yes, but you’re no longer jobless đŸ™‚ how is that going btw?

Leave a Reply

