dating science

“Should I call? Should I not call. Should I call? No, I should not call.

Guys who like you enough will call you. That’s why I should not call.”

There. It’s the logic of dating. The reasoning behind so many hours of thinking, wondering, debating … I truly forgot what dating was like. I thought it was boy likes girl + girl likes boy = Saturday afternoons paddling, slowly floating on a beautiful Central Park lake. Or standing in a quiet gallery in front of a painting together, debating whether it’s a clown or a lizard. Eating ice cream in the sun, sharing cookies and dreams. Walking through street markets in the afternoon, sitting by the water at sunset, holding hands, cuddling on a wooden bench looking off into the Hudson.

Wait, that’s the movies. Or, that’s what happens when guy likes girl enough. Or has enough confidence.

But it’s not dating. Dating is rocket science. Dating is A + B = n/a. He’s just not that into you, you tell yourself. But then why did we have such an amazing time last Monday; I know that wasn’t chance, you answer. And why has he called me so many times since then? Why does he send me messages? Well, then if he calls you, why don’t you call him back? I have, and he’s called back too, but he hasn’t requested another Monday to repeat. Well, OK, he has, but it was at the last minute, and I didn’t want him to think that was fine, so I said no. But then we went out the next night, but it wasn’t a date, it was dancing with other friends. And he kissed me then, but then he failed the test I gave him in my head later.

I don’t want to get into the test now, but the point is this: Dating is just awkward. I totally forgot! I thought things just worked instantly when they felt right. But sometimes it feels right, but it’s just not.

Too bad he’s cute, though. Waste of a good face, if he doesn’t know how to make the girl he likes feel special.

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to dating science

  1. Abby says:

    i had a friend once who gave her boyfriend lots of tests, some he passed and some he failed. he never knew he was being tested, he was a good guy. she drove him crazy and turned a guy who was great to her and great for her into a person who thought she was too high maintance, too crazy, and too unfair. i tried to tell her when she’d tell me what she’d put him through, asking for foods she thought he should know by now she didn’t like to see if he’d notice(so he never knew what the hell she actually did like cause one day she’d hate it the next she’d ask for it), she would mess up his room to see if he’d clean it for her next visit, she’d tell him mean things to see how he reacted… it was pretty sad and it was pretty crazy. they were good together, now he’s with some undeserving little shit who can’t carry a conversation or be nice to anyone but him, but she is REALLY nice to him. if you want a guy, go for it. and treat him as decent as you want to be treated. if he isn’t what you wanted, hey you’re in a big city right? more where he came from. but tests are a sure fire way to make a good relationship go bad, cause how can you pass a test you didn’t know you were taking? how can you know you should think alittle harder this time, try to figure out what this senario really means? good luck to you with this boy- hope he turns out to not be a waste of a good face later on.

    • tali2 says:

      hey Abby, tests suck, i agree. and if her b/f went through trouble with them, imagine how your friend must have felt, cuz it’s not fun giving tests and constantly questioning things. I think tests are healthy as long as you don’t take them to the extreme, as it sounds your friend did. but knowing my own past with tests, i’m now trying a new strategy… 🙂

Leave a Reply

