14: untitled

A few things I’m thinking about tonight before bed:

1. I want to go to church again. I was going to go tomorrow, but seeing as to how it’s 4:20 a.m. as I type this … well, simply, that ain’t happenin’. But there is a church I’ve found that I want to join. It’s the big one in my area, and it’s where all the young people go, and it’s always good to be around young people of your nationality.

2. I want to start work on “Randy’s Cookbook.” It’s not really a cookbook per se — more like a compilation of health advice, nutrition requirements, and some easy, healthy recipes. I’m making this for my friend Randy, who doesn’t know how to cook but would stop eating junk if he could or knew what to make. He told me this, and I offered to give him a few easy recipe ideas. “You’d have to show me how to do it too, though,” he insisted. No problem. I love that stuff. But without his knowing, I’m taking it a step further and expanding it into a little healthy cooking guide. I spent much of my day reading up and thinking about. (By the way, did you know that canned tomatoes are bad for you because their acidity causes the BPA to leak from the lining of the can? So experts recommend you use the boxed kind for recipes that call for canned tomatoes or to try to replace canned tomatoes with pasta sauce from glass jars, instead.)

3. What I ate today.
Breakfast: whole-wheat cereal with oats and flax, with milk; 1 kiwi
Lunch: chicken-avocado-lettuce-tomato sandwich; rice with corn and peas; plain nonfat yogurt
Snack: half a chocolate cookie; honeydew melon
Dinner: 1 cannolo; 1 dipla; 1 slice pumpkin pie; 3 small, soft cookies; 1 Bud Lite
Afterhours snack: a bit of canned salmon

My previous months’ health magazines are turning over in their graves.

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

