16: jam

Dear bloggy readers,

Today, I don’t know what to talk to you about. I guess there’s a lot on my mind, and when that happens, it’s like a traffic jam: You’re stuck right in the center, and there’s no way out.

So I don’t know where to start, what to pick and choose, and I’m so tired. I’m already an hour late for my 9 p.m. bedtime. So let me take your leave early tonight, sleep tight, then catch up with you tomorrow.

What do you have to look forward to, you ask? Well, let’s see. I could tell you about my thoughts on the train, the rain in London. The baker in my neighborhood. The candidates running for city council. Last night’s debate. A conversation with a spiritual healer. A wine bar. An apology.

I’m not so sure if any of that will keep you intrigued, and so I will whip up something quick and sweet for you: I’ll paste a part of a teeny facebook chat convo I just had.

This is a guy I met last week. That night, he saw a girl he said looked just like me. I was intrigued, and I wanted to find her. We tried for an hour, and fiinally, he pointed her out, sitting at a table lost in conversation with a friend. I was flattered — the girl was pretty with minimal makeup, and she looked kind, warm and genuine. From then on, we dubbed her my twin.

John: Lol. I’m already failing at your advice.
Me: u r? already? what did u do? can we stop the damage?
John: Going to get a beer in a few minutes

Me: with my twin?
John: I wish

Me: Hands off my twin. she’s a nun.
John:  😦:(
John: But she looks just like some sweet girl I know
*silence*

Me:   🙂
Me: have u located a third long-lost twin? 😉

And there you have it, audience. So cute when you find out someone likes you. The most priceless feeling in the world, regardless of whether you like them or not. Because then you know that someone out there in the jungle of the world appreciates your existence, is drawn to your essence.

It’s flattering to the human spirit.

And I thank you for reading.

love,
me

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

