25: all divine

Bloggy, I feel really tired tonight, and so I think I’ll bow quickly here and take your leave. What can I quickly tell you that will differentiate this day, give No. 25 some character and separate it from the pack?

Ah, this idea that I just had as I said that. You know, I’ve always noticed that the universe is very repetitive, and everything mirrors everything. (Sometimes, I’ve wondered if you can predict the future that way … by watching something else take place and see how it’s similar to our own reality.)

Anyway, I can’t give you any specific examples right now because I can’t think of any. But, I just thought of this again: What if, the way I make each one of my consecutive 69 entries each day is how God makes his children?

Every day, I pour whatever I’m feeling into the same white box, engendering an entry with a separate identity at the push of the Publish button. Some entries end up flowing better, some are more brilliant, others more logical or insightful. Some are nostalgic, and some contain humor that others can’t match. Others are pretty boring, lagging behind lethargically, seeming without a point. And a few are made of just a handful of words, barely an acknowledgment of presence.

They’re all real, like separate little people. And maybe that’s the process God uses for us too, and that’s why we’re all different — not because some were chosen to be smarter, more gifted, etc. But rather, we differ by chance — because on that specific day when God decided to create you, he happened to feel the way you are.

In that case, our lifetime is simply a reflection of one day in the life of God. And if each one of us represents one day, then with almost seven billion people in the world, we’ve captured eternity. Then as we multiply, have kids, and our kids have kids, and so on, we’re not capturing more, but rather narrowing into our Self. Because if we are a day in the life of God, then our children are hours in the life of God, their children being minutes, seconds, and so on. The more we multiply, the tinier morsels of God time our offspring represent. But it doesn’t make them any less important, because put them and us and all the people of the world together, and what do we have?

God.

That’s why I’ve often thought we’re all divine. And I’m not even religious.

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 25: all divine

  1. bhavmd says:

    =) i loved how you described the idea that each person is a day in god’s life, and his (whatever moment in time) is what you represent. it’s takes so much of the guesswork out of asking why God made my life the way it is, and makes my life so much easier to accept as it is. well done! i like this view and i may even adapt it to my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

