43: night

Ah! It’s 10:30 almost, and I haven’t gone to bed yet.

Well, I had an amazing night, and lucky for you, I’ve decided to tell you all about it before I go to bed.

First off, I went to salsa class with my roomie. A nerdy guy asked me to dance afterward. I thought it would be lame, but I was blown away by the passion in his dance moves. And quite turned on, yes. That’s it, I decided as he twirled me around again and again and the way he smiled made me feel beautiful: If a guy can dance, he needs nothing else. Until the music stopped and the guy could barely ask me for my number. Then I realized that social skills are just as important, actually.

After that, I left to meet Randy. He was downtown, angry that he’d been waiting for me and two others for an hour and a half due to a miscommunication. I sucked it up and listened to him vent for what seemed forever, and then I apologized, even though I felt I didn’t do much wrong. But by the end of that conversation, I realized I had wronged him with thoughtlessness, and then I really did feel bad.

But thirty minutes later, after dancing in one of our favorite bars, we were laughing again. “I’m sorry again,” I said outside and hugged him. We were starting to make up. “It’s OK, I too will take into consideration what you said,” Randy said. It was quite cute, and to this day I’m a huge fan of fights and the way they make you bond when you make up.

We went back into the bar soon after that, where I ran into boy’s bff. I entertained the idea of talking to her, but seeing as to how I only knew her through facebook pictures and I don’t really talk to him anymore, I chose not to. It’s so strange though when you recognize people through facebook.

Randy and I danced, danced, danced, then a mutual friend and Lin showed up. After a while, we left and went somewhere else, where more long island ice teas followed, and suddenly I realized I was dancing too well — and feeling quite tipsy.

So I stopped drinking, and we left. On the way to nowhere, we ran into two guys our age singing and playing guitars on the street. They were really good. Their voices were amazing and reminded me of my own. So I did something extraordinary: I asked them for their email so I could send them my voice clips so they’d consider me for singing together. OMG. I don’t know if I’ll actually do it, but I do think it was cool how I proposed that out of the blue.

We ended up at their place around the block, having more beers and listening to music and attempting the moonwalk over and over again.

Finally, Ricky and our mutual friend left. And so soon enough, Lin and I left too. I munched on a whole-wheat cracker on the way back, and then we stopped for some food. The food was probably the best ever only because I was starving.

And that was the night. I’m about to go to bed, and I just got a text: “So I’ve decided you have to let me take you to dinner tonight. …” This came from a boy whose birthday party I skipped out on just last night. I’m flattered, and I think it’s cool that I don’t even have to do anything, and these guys just want to hang out with me. I mean, it’s always flattering when anyone wants to take time out of what they’re doing to be with you … but when you do nothing at all to earn it … well, that’s just even cooler.

Good morning and good night!

About tali2

I am a recent grad of the wonderful English major. Though I don't regret studying English one bit, I realize why my teachers, parents, friends, and imaginary mentors warned me against it: Because it leads you nowhere. But it did give me great writing skills which I hope to continue honing in this blog as I chronicle the tribulations of the terrible job hunt in the terrible job market of NYC. And I hope that my blog reminds fellow unemployed recent grads that you are not alone, inspires some hope within us, while presenting a snapshot of our lives to others who do not share the same self-imposed troubles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

